-32%
, ,

Nicci French : Blue Monday, Tuesday’s gone

Blue Monday The stunning first book in a new series of psychological thrillers introducing an unforgettable London psychotherapist Frieda Klein is a solitary, incisive psychotherapist who spends her sleepless nights walking along the ancient rivers that have been forced underground in modern London. She believes that the world is a messy, uncontrollable place, but what we can control is what is inside our heads. This attitude is reflected in her own life, which is an austere one of refuge, personal integrity, and order. The abduction of five-year-old Matthew Farraday provokes a national outcry and a desperate police hunt. And when his face is splashed over the newspapers, Frieda cannot ignore the coincidence: one of her patients has been having dreams in which he has a hunger for a child. A red-haired child he can describe in perfect detail, a child the spitting image of Matthew. She finds herself in the center of the investigation, serving as the reluctant sidekick of the chief inspector. Μία κοινωνία σοκαρισμένη. Η φωτογραφία του μικρού Μάθιου στις εφημερίδες φάρος και ελπίδα στην αναζήτησή του. Η ψυχοθεραπεύτρια Φρίντα Κλάιν ανήσυχη αντικρίζει την εικόνα του μικρού παιδιού και έρχονται στο νου της τα παράξενα και νοσηρά όνειρα ενός ασθενούς της. Όνειρα που περιγράφουν και με την παραμικρή λεπτομέρεια τα χαρακτηριστικά του παιδιού που τόσο λαχταρά να αποκτήσει ο ασθενής της. Εικόνες πανομοιότυπες… Απλή σύμπτωση; Παιχνίδια του μυαλού; Ή υπάρχει έστω και η ελάχιστη πιθανότητα να σχετίζονται οι δύο υποθέσεις; Πώς μπορεί η Φρίντα να παραβιάσει το ιατρικό απόρρητο; Πόσο θα βοηθήσουν οι ψυχαναλυτικές γνώσεις της στην εξιχνίαση της υπόθεσης; Και πώς εμπλέκεται σε όλα αυτά μία απαγωγή που είχε γίνει είκοσι χρόνια πριν; Η Φρίντα θα βρεθεί να πρωτοστατεί στον αγώνα δρόμου για τον εντοπισμό και τη σύλληψη του απαγωγέα. Μόνο που αυτός ο αγώνας δεν είναι μια κούρσα φυσικής αντοχής. Η Φρίντα πρέπει να κατεβεί ως τα πιο σκοτεινά μονοπάτια του μυαλού ενός ψυχοπαθούς, προκειμένου να βρει τις απαντήσεις για το αν ο Μάθιου είναι ζωντανός και πού μπορεί να βρίσκεται. Μερικές φορές το μυαλό είναι το πιο επικίνδυνο μέρος για να χάσεις τον εαυτό σου. Tuesday’s gone Nicci French, the bestselling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You, returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with Top Ten Bestseller Blue Monday. Fans of Peter James’ Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson’s DCI Banks series will love central character psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime. For Frieda Klein the days get longer, the cases darker . . . Psychotherapist Frieda Klein thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door. A man’s decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don’t know who it is, how he got there or what happened – and Michelle can’t tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion. Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole’s past, the more of his victims they encounter – and the more motives they find for murder. Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda’s own past are returning to threaten her. Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free – and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate. A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday’s Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers. ‘Nicci French knows just how to play on our worst fears’ Daily Mail Nicci French is the pseudonym for Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple live in Suffolk and have written twelve other bestselling novels including Beneath the Skin and Blue Monday, the first thrilling instalment in the Frieda Klein series. ΤΡΙΤΗ Για τη Φρίντα Κλάιν, οι µέρες γίνονται πιο σκοτεινές… Η ψυχοθεραπεύτρια Φρίντα Κλάιν έχει πιστέψει ότι δεν θα µπλεχτεί ξανά µε τις υποθέσεις της αστυνοµίας, όταν ένα πρωί ξυπνάει από κοφτά χτυπήµατα στην πόρτα της. O επιθεωρητής Κάρλσον χρειάζεται επειγόντως τη βοήθειά της. Σε διαµέρισµα του ανατολικού Λονδίνου ένα πτώµα σε αποσύνθεση βρίσκεται για εβδοµάδες στον ίδιο χώρο µε µια ψυχικά διαταραγµένη γυναίκα. Η αστυνοµία δεν γνωρίζει καν ποιο είναι το θύµα ή πώς έχασε τη ζωή του, και όλες οι ελπίδες στρέφονται στη Φρίντα. Εκείνη, οπλισµένη µε θάρρος, θα προσπαθήσει να διεισδύσει στο λαβύρινθο του µυαλού της γυναίκας. Καθώς τα στοιχεία που συγκεντρώνονται οδηγούν προς έναν συγκεκριµένο άντρα, έρχονται στην επιφάνεια µια σειρά από τραγικές υποθέσεις και µια αλυσίδα από σκοτεινά κίνητρα. Την ίδια στιγµή η Φρίντα συνειδητοποιεί ότι ίσως η αλήθεια βρίσκεται γραµµένη στους τοίχους που ορθώνουν οι βαθύτεροι εφιάλτες της. Αδυνατώντας να ξεχωρίσει την αλήθεια από το ψέµα, η ψυχοθεραπεύτρια πλησιάζει το δολοφόνο που δεν είναι διατεθειµένος να ρισκάρει την ελευθερία του. Και έχει ορκιστεί ότι όποιος τον αγγίξει θα έχει τη µοίρα των προηγούµενων θυµάτων του…

Availability:

In stock

£15.20 £22.20

Weight 0.555 kg
Author(s)

Nicci French

ISBN

9789603649656

ISBN-10
Year

Language(s)

Original Title

Nicci French : Blue Monday, Tuesday’s gone

Translator(s)
Pages

1144

Dimensions
Cover

SHOPPING CART

close