, ,

The Winter Horses / Τα άλογα του χειμώνα

GREEK LANGUAGE BOOK
From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.
It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine.  But it's 1941, and things are different this year.  Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets—for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park.
Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings—everything but her life.  Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends—until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good.
Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses—and herself.

Η Καλίνκα κινδυνεύει. Έχει μείνει ορφανή, χωρίς οικογένεια και φίλους. Είναι μόνη στην ατέλειωτη στέπα της Ουκρανίας, στην καρδιά του χειμώνα του 1941. Δεν ξέρει ποια κατεύθυνση να ακολουθήσει για να βρεθεί σε ασφαλές μέρος. Όμως ο μεγαλύτερος κίνδυνος για την Καλίνκα είναι το κίτρινο Άστρο του Δαυίδ που είναι ραμμένο στο παλτό της.
Και τότε συναντά δυο άλογα στις χιονισμένες εκτάσεις, άλογα μιας άλλης εποχής. Αδάμαστα, πανούργα και σοφά, τα άλογα Πρζεβάλσκι έχουν υπομείνει τη σκληρότητα του κόσμου από την περίοδο των ζωγραφιών στα σπήλαια – όμως τα δεινά του Β΄ Παγκόσμιου Πολέμου είναι χειρότερα απ’ οτιδήποτε έχουν βιώσει.
Τα άλογα αυτά ίσως είναι τα τελευταία του είδους τους. Αν καταλήξουν ως άλλες δυο απώλειες του πολέμου, η ράτσα τους θα εξαφανιστεί. Στην Καλίνκα αναγνωρίζουν μια αδελφή ψυχή και μια ελπίδα να επιβιώσουν καθώς προσπαθούν να γλιτώσουν από τους Ναζί που όλο και πλησιάζουν, με σκοπό να σκοτώσουν και τους τρεις. Θα καταφέρει η Καλίνκα να τα σώσει – ή μήπως θα τη σώσουν εκείνα;
ISBN 9786180300048
PAGES 328

Availability:

Out of stock

£12.15

Out of stock

Weight 0.555 kg
Author(s)

Philip Kerr

ISBN

9786180300048

ISBN-10

6180300046

Year

Language(s)

Original Title

Τα άλογα του χειμώνα

Translator(s)

Antonis Kalokyris

Pages

328

Dimensions

Cover

You may also like…

SHOPPING CART

close